House Rules

Talents

  • The Expert Grappler talent provides a +2 bonus to grapple checks, rather than a +2 bonus to the unarmed attack to start a grapple. This helps you both start and maintain grapples, as well as helps defend you from opponents’ grapple attempts.
  • The Hammerblow talent now doubles the Strength bonus to the damage rolls of unarmed attacks as long as there is nothing in your hands, rather than doubling the Strength bonus to attack rolls. Landing a hit is not an issue with unarmed attacks, but dealing a good amount of damage compared to other weapons that require less of a feat/talent investment is a concern. Thus, a 1st-level Soldier with 14 Strength, Hammerblow, and Martial Arts I will have a +3 attack roll and a 1d6 + 4 damage roll, rather than a +5 attack roll and a 1d6 + 2 damage roll.
  • If, when using the Block talent, your Use the Force check is equal to the attack roll of your opponent, you enter a Weapon Lock. Both participants make an opposed Initiative check, and the winner gets to deal their unarmed damage to their opponent as a free action. The character dealing their unarmed damage is not subject to attacks of opportunity for not having the Martial Arts I feat. If the user of the Block talent is using a lightsaber and the opponent’s weapon being blocked is not made of phrik alloy or otherwise resistant to lightsabers, then a Weapon Lock will disable that weapon.
  • As noted in the Core Rulebook’s errata, the Deflect talent can be used to deflect some of the damage from the Force Lightning power. If the Force Lightning power hits but the Deflect attempt succeeds, you take half damage and do not move -1 step down the condition track. If the Deflect attempt succeeds and Force Lightning misses your Reflex defense, the attack deals no damage.

Force Powers

  • While a character is receiving the rage bonus from the Dark Rage power, she cannot make any Use the Force checks except to activate powers with the [dark side] descriptor.
  • The damage of the Move Object power is limited to the availability of objects of a given size. You must also decide what nearby object you intend to use before you roll your Use the Force check. If you do not roll high enough to lift the object, you fail and the power is spent. If you roll Gargantuan, for example, and there isn’t a starfighter or other Gargantuan object handy to throw, you cannot deal Gargantuan damage. This does not affect the damage bonuses from spending a Force Point or Destiny Point, however, and those still add +2d6 or +6d6 to damage, respectively. At the GM’s discretion and a player’s explanation, special consideration may be given to particularly effective items thrown with this power, such as using something heavy and sharp to pierce a vehicle’s armored hull.
  • Except for powers with the [lightsaber form] descriptor, Force Powers activated with a Standard or Full-Round action in a threatened square will provoke an attack of opportunity, as they require intense concentration.

Second Wind

  • You can use your Second Wind once per encounter.
  • The Extra Second Wind feat, or any other similar ability that grants extra uses of Second Wind, instead lets you use two Second Winds per encounter.

Armor

  • Armor bonuses and level bonuses do not stack, but in normal rules your armor bonus is always dominant. I’m removing this restriction. For armor with which you are proficient, you use whichever bonus is higher. If you don some armor and aren’t proficient with it, such as part of a disguise, you may forego any bonuses that armor provides in order to avoid suffering penalties.
  • Since the above rule makes the Soldier’s Armored Defense talent useless, consider it to not exist. You can take Improved Armored Defense (Level + 1/2 Armor = Big Bonus) without taking Armored Defense. Improved Armored Defense is now a prerequisite for any Talent that requires the Armored Defense talent.

Area Attacks

  • Grenades essentially function as Area Burst 1 attacks from 4th Edition D&D, allowing them to affect a 3×3 area.
  • The attack roll on an area attack must be 10 or higher in order to deal half damage to missed targets, and a natural roll of 1 never deals damage.

Dark Side Score

  • You do not need to be fully Dark Side to take levels in the Sith Apprentice or Sith Lord prestige classes, but you will need a Dark Side score of at least 1 plus a way to actually receive some Sith training, either from dark texts, holocrons, or a master. In this campaign setting, “Sith” is not synonymous with “bad guy,” though many Sith are pretty nasty dudes.
  • If your Dark Side Score is equal to or less than your Wisdom score, you may choose to call on the Dark Side when spending a Force Point to augment a roll, which lets you roll an additional d6 and add it to the total. Doing so increases your Dark Side Score by 1, and doing so to commit something heinous nets an additional Dark Side Score increase of 1. Like most Force Point activities, this is not exclusive to Force users, as all heroes and villains with class levels are capable of being a little more “lucky” when they need to be.

House Rules

Star Wars: Of Masks and Mantles Schneidend